12 Crafts of Christmas – Day #7, Painted Stones

Day 7 Craft: Painted Stones

Sevenfold gifts of the Spirit, written on stones.
Painted stones are a fairly popular craft these days. Inspiring messages are written, then the stones left in parks for others to find. Special stone “hunts”, like Easter Eggs hunts have become the new scavenger hunt.

These painted stones will help remind us of a definitive list of specific attributes, or examples of the Holy Spirit’s work through the faithful. 


Sevenfold Gifts of the Spirit

The seven gifts are enumerated in Isaiah 11:2-3. The seven gifts are as follows:

Wisdom: The wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning.  We see God as our Father and other people with dignity. 

Understanding: In understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live. 

Counsel (Right Judgment): With the gift of counsel/right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. 

Fortitude (Courage): With the gift of fortitude/courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risks as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death. 

Knowledge: With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God. The gift of knowledge is more than an accumulation of facts.

Piety (Reverence): With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the church. 

Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe): With the gift of fear of the Lord we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love. 

The gift of wisdom corresponds to the virtue of charity.
The gift of understanding corresponds to the virtue of faith.
The gift of counsel (right judgement) corresponds to the virtue of prudence.
The gift of courage corresponds to the virtue of fortitude.
The gift of knowledge corresponds to the virtue of hope.
The gift of Reverance corresponds to the virtue of justice.
The gift of Wonder and Awe corresponds to the virtue of temperance.

Making the Painted Stones

 What you will need:

~ Rocks

~ Pattern

~ Sharpies or paint pens

~ Sealant (Mod podge or PVA glue)

~ white acrylic craft paint

~ Brushes

First, seal your stones.
Paint a thin coat of sealant, allow to dry, then another. Then paint the bottom.

Print out the pattern sheet and match your stones to a symbol.

We use the white paint to “sketch” our design. Use the paint to “draw” your outline. If your not happy, just wipe it off, quickly.

Once you’re happy with the design, fill it in. The initial coat will be pretty transparent. Allow it to dry, then add another coat.

You will end up with a nice background to use your markers on.

Add your color

and then your outline.

Flip them over and
add the  “gift term” that corresponds to
the design on the top side.

Day 8  Happy New Year !


Leave a Reply