12 Crafts of Christmas – Day #5, Gold Crown Tea Lights

Day 5 Craft: Gold Crown Tea Lights

Light up a cold Winter evening with pretty little tea light crowns !
Not only are you be recycling Toilet Paper rolls, BONUS: there will be no spreading of loose glitter !

The first five books of the Old Testament.

Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy are the first 5 books of the Bible. They are also known as the Pentateuch, meaning “5 books”, or the written Torah. Moses is said to have written them but the composition came directly from God.

Genesis is the book of origins–of the beginning of life, and of ruin through sin. The word Genesis, is Greek in origin and comes from the word geneseos which means “birth,” “genealogy,” or “history of origin.”
Genesis speaks of beginnings, of marriage and family, of society and civilization, of sin and redemption. 

Exodus is the book of redemption, the first need of a ruined race. “Exodus” is derived from Greek Exodos, meaning “exit,” or “departure”. Two themes prevail in Exodus: (1) Redemption as pictured in the Passover, and (2) deliverance from the bondage of Egypt as seen in the Exodus out of Egypt and crossing the Red Sea.
God reveals his name, his law and how he is to be worshiped in Exodus.

Leviticus is a sort of “how-to” book of worship and communion, and more. Leviticus means “relating to the Levites” the priests who were chosen by God to minister to the nation. Leviticus was designed to teach how to worship and walk with God.
“Be holy, because I am holy.” Leviticus 11:45

Numbers is the book of wandering, getting its name from the numbering of the people. It tells the story of nearly 40 years of wandering in the desert. A journey which should have only lasted eleven days became a 38-year agony of defeat simply because of the disbelief and disobedience of the people.
Numbers speaks of God’s continual care for his people. Regardless of their rebellion and unbelief, He miraculously supplied their needs. He provided them with water, manna, and quail. He continued to love and forgive the people even when they complained, grumbled, and rebelled against Him.

Deuteronomy is the book of review. While the word means “second law-giving” this book is actually an explanation and expansion of the original law. Moses delivers his farewell address emphasizing that the laws were especially needed at such a time. Leadership is being transferred to Joshua and after many years of wandering, the Israelites are preparing to enter Canaan.
Unlike the matter-of-fact presentations of Leviticus and Number, Moses speaks from the heart…  more like a father, as a servant of the Lord, rather than a teacher.

, and he presented them in a way appropriate to the situation. In contrast to the matter-of-fact narratives of Leviticus and Numbers, here the words of Moses come to us from his heart as this servant of the Lord presses God’s claims on his people Israel.

Making the Gold Crowns

 What you will need:

~ Toilet Paper rolls

~ Gold paint (metallic)

~ Glitter Glue

~ Tea lights

~ Scissors, paint brush

Begin by cutting your toilet paper rolls in half.
NOTE: you can use paper towel rolls cut into 4 sections.

Next, cut the points of the crown. Just cut into the half roll at an angle, back and forth.

Paint your crowns with the metallic gold paint. Allow to dry

Add the glitter glue in any pattern you like. 
We used gold and clear. Allow to dry.
NOTE: the glitter glue will take a while to dry.

Once the glitter glue is dry you can insert your tea lights.
NOTE: Make sure you remove the protective tab.

Add the tea lights to your
crowns and turn down
the lights !
And enjoy the extra time you’ll have not cleaning up glitter !

Day 6

Folded paper Stars

Leave a Reply